Home » general » Tuesday and Trucks…

Tuesday and Trucks…

Okay, so I sat up too late  last night reading…. my own fault. Just, once I turn the TV off and it’s quiet, it’s easy to read “just a bit more” and then it’s like 2 hours later and it’s 1 am and I’m still up.  Lots of coffee today…

What was it with trucks yesterday? Big semi trucks? There were 2 relatively major accidents on the Thruway, fortunately not involving me and on the other side of the road, which is 2 more than I usually see.

One was a refrigerator truck and the back end of the trailer was burnt through. Just the back half of the trailer, probably where the electrical things were (I know a lot of things but I’m not an expert of trucks!). It was there in the morning and still there on my way home from work (although all the emergency vehicles were – obviously – long gone). It was towed away by the time I was coming to work this morning but kinda odd that it was there all day. Probably too fragile to simply tow away and took a while to decide what to do with it.

The other, at the end of the day, was an over-turned semi on the off ramp from the Thuway to Transit Road. I suspect it was going too fast around the curve and the load shifted and… whoops… over it went. It looked kind of forlorn all by itself, there were no emergency vehicles by the time I came across it. I didn’t have my camera handy and there was other traffic, otherwise it would have made an interesting picture…. truck on its side, wheels sticking out.

Both time, I guess everyone else was lucky that the trucks didn’t take any one else out with them. The truck on fire pulled over to the side and that was (relatively safe) but the truck that overturned very easily could have taken a couple of cars with him…..

So, the message is to pay attention. You don’t know when strange things are going to happen and if you’re in the wrong place at the wrong time, you can’t always control what happens around you.

Oh. Get some sleep at night. You will function better!

Leave a Reply

