Home » general » My New-ish Computer

My New-ish Computer

So one day last week, while I’m working mind you, the computer on my desktop dies. Just… nothing.

Luckily for me, I know people ūüėČ so I go to one of the other bazillion computers on campus and put in a help desk call to get someone to look at it for me. I get nicely prompt service and we try as a first step to put the hard drive from my existing computer into a new box.

No joy.

Futzing some more, turns out it’s really the monitor that died. So I get a new, shiny monitor.

Now. For a lot of reasons I’m not going to go into here, I have some security software on my original computer. Security software that kicks in big time when you move the hard drive from the home it knows and loves to a new location. The hard drive is locked down so tightly it basically won’t even boot.

This isn’t a major disaster in the grand scheme of things, mostly a nuisance. Most of my critical files are on my network drive and I’ve got a text file with some uber-necessary URLs that I never remember but need to do my job. Well, I have most of the uber-necessary URLs I find out.

Sigh.

Takes three days of back and forth email with the one security person I need to talk to, to find out that, oops, there’s a known glitch in the software. You can’t get into the locked-down hard drive if your computer has a keyboard connected through a USB port. Which, of course, I have…. Who thought of that? O.o So now the help desk has to sacrifice a virgin video board on the night of a new moon with the proper incantations to get access to the old hard drive to recover the couple of things I’d kind of like back but can live without. I think. But they’re nice people so they’ll be doing that soon. Whenever the next new moon is, anyway.

Along the way, I do the polite “Hey! I’m dead in the water here guys!” to those nice help desk folk so the counter offer is “Since we’re moving to Win 7 and Office 2010, want a computer with that on it?”

Hmmm… so “Sure, I’ll be the guinea pig” and lo and behold, I have a new-ish computer (actually it’s not any newer than my old computer,¬†which, how is that fair?) on my desk and now that I have a new computer is when¬†I start to figure out what’s now missing. Or what works differently.

The¬†good news is that I’ve been messing with Office 2010 and that’s a no-brainer. It’s fully compatible with Office 2007 and the only major different I’ve run across is that the Office Button (the circle thing-y) is¬†changed back to the word “File” on the ribbons.¬†I know there are¬†differences but I haven’t run across anything that’s too different.

I do hate the new keyboard I was given.¬†It’s teenier than the old one, so I’m going to swap that out with my old one¬†next. It’s older and pretty grubby but it’s easier to type on for any length of time.

More stories of¬†Office 2010 and Win 7 as we go along….

Leave a Reply

